ucps logo

Archived Stories for Union County Public Schools

Search by Keyword

Two UCPS schools recognized regionally

UCPS Superintendent Dr. Ed Davis recognized Marshville Elementary and Sun Valley Middle during the STAR Award Celebration on November 18, 2008. Pictured, from left, are Sun Valley Middle (former teacher of the year) Karen Pharr, Sun Valley Middle Assistant Principal Mary Jo Breckenridge, Sun Valley Middle Principal Blaire Traywick, Dr. Davis, Marshville Elementary Principal Tina Miller, and Marshville Elementary (former teachers of the year) Betsy Smith and Becky Phifer.

Marshville Elementary and Sun Valley Middle Schools were recognized at the STAR Award Celebration breakfast held by the Southwest Education Alliance (SWEA) at the Embassy Suites and Convention Center in Concord on November 18, 2008.

The award recognized the extraordinary efforts made by schools across the Southwest Region that resulted in student success. STAR (Schools That Attain Results) highlights and acknowledges schools that make outstanding and innovative efforts in teaching all students.

Marshville Elementary, a Title I school, was nominated because of its focus on the “whole child.”

“The school models teamwork in all that they do,” said UCPS Superintendent Dr. Ed Davis. “Under the capable and visionary leadership of Principal Tina Miller and her staff, the school met AYP in math in the 2007-08 school year. In addition, it met high growth in the NC ABCs of Public Education.”

Sun Valley Middle School was also recognized with the STAR School Award. “Union County Public Schools is known for being a fast growing school district,” said Davis.

“Sun Valley Middle School was built to accommodate 1,100 students. Last year, the school had almost 1,600 students. But they didn’t let that be a deterrent for achieving excellence. They rolled up their sleeves and created a very positive and safe climate for those students to be able to thrive.”

The STAR Award Celebration is not a competition, but rather a recognition opportunity for schools making strides in education.

A school can be nominated by its district (two schools in districts of more than 20,000 students). If chosen, the superintendent from that school district recognizes the school(s) at the celebration.

The STAR Award Celebration was held on November 18, 2008, at the Embassy Suites and Convention Center in Concord. SWEA is an organization comprised of superintendents from across the Southwest Region.

There are twelve districts in the Southwest Region: Cabarrus, Charlotte/ Mecklenburg, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell-Statesville, Kannapolis, Lincoln, Mooresville City, Newton-Conover City, Rowan-Salisbury, Stanly and Union.

Written by: Deb Coates Bledsoe, Publications Coordinator
Posted: Nov 24, 2008 by Deb Bledsoe, UCPS Communications Coordinator

Back to list of stories for Union County Public Schools