ucps logo

Archived Stories for Union County Public Schools

Search by Keyword

Historic night for the Union County Public Schools Board of Education

Union County Clerk of Court Mr., J.R. Rowell, at left, administers the Oath of Office to the newly-elected Board of Education members. Pictured, from left, are incumbents John Collins, District Five; and John Crowder, District One; Richard Yercheck, District Three, chairman; Kevin Stewart, District Two; Christina B. Helms, at-large member;and Mike Guzman, at-large member.

The Union County Public Schools Board of Education made history as four brand-new members and two incumbents were sworn in during the Dec. 4, 2012, monthly meeting at Kensington Elementary School. Union County Clerk of Court Mr., J.R. Rowell, administered the Oath of Office.

Twenty years ago, in 1992, the inaugural members of the Union County Public Schools Board of Education were sworn in to guide and oversee the merger of the Monroe City and the Union County School systems. At that time, nine members were seated including current BOE member, Mr. John Crowder. Not since 1992, have as many as four brand-new members joined the Board at one time.

The four new UCPS Board members are Mike Guzman, at-large member; Christina B. Helms, at-large member; Kevin Stewart, District Two; and Richard Yercheck, District Three. Mr. Yercheck was elected to fill the unexpired two-year term created when former Board Chair Dean Arp was elected to the North Carolina House of Representatives. The incumbents being sworn in were John Collins, District Five; and John Crowder, District One.

Mr. Crowder has the distinction of being the longest-tenured Board Member. He is completing his thirtieth year serving on the Board, having served ten years on the Monroe City Schools Board and the last twenty years on the UCPS Board. He was first elected to serve in 1982. Mr. Collins has just completed his eighth year on the Board of Education.

During the meeting, the Board elected Mr. Richard Yercheck, District Three, chairman, and Ms. Marce Savage, District Six, vice chairman. The chairman will appoint Board members to the Instruction, Facilities, Policy, and the Strategic Planning and Technology Committees.

Chairman Yercheck said, “I would like to thank Dr. Rachel Clarke, the staff and parents of Kensington Elementary School for hosting us and thank all who are here.”

The Union County Public Schools system is governed by a nine-member Board of Education. Board members are elected for four-year staggered terms on a non-partisan, countywide basis. Union County is divided into six school board districts. A school board member who lives in that district represents each district.

There are also three at-large members. Voters select a school board member to represent their district as well as candidates who are running for the three at-large seats.

The Board of Education meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 7:00p.m. Board Meetings are held in schools on a rotational basis. Meeting locations are listed on the BOE webpage.

The public is invited to all monthly Board Meetings. The members of the UCPS Board of education are listed below:

District One
John Crowder

District Two
Kevin Stewart

District Three
Richard Yercheck

District Four
Rick Pigg

District Five
John Collins

District Six
Marce Savage

Sherry Hodges

Mike Guzman

Christina B. Helms

Written by: Rob Jackson, Community Relations and Communications Liaison
Posted: Dec 04, 2012 by Deb Coates Bledsoe

Back to list of stories for Union County Public Schools