ucps logo

Archived Stories for Union County Public Schools

Search by Keyword

UCEC National Honor Society Inducts new members

2013-14 National Honor Society inductees

Every year, Union County Early College grants students who are in the junior or senior year an opportunity to be a part of National Honor Society. These students must have a cumulative GPA 4.2 or higher to be considered a candidate. Once they have been identified, students complete a form regarding their leadership positions, service activities, honors, work experience, etc. The Faculty Council of five faculty members must then review these forms and select students that they find to meet the four criteria of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. Once the student has been selected to join and represent National Honor Society they are inducted through the National Honor Society Induction Ceremony.
This year, on September 26, 2013, we welcomed 17 new members into our current chapter of 32. Our president, Jane Rudenko, opened the ceremony with her introduction about the four aspects of National Honor Society. Four of the members spoke about the ideals of National Honor Society; scholarship, leadership, service, and character. Following this, the new members signed the book of membership and were pinned by a current member. The new members led by Karleigh Kennedy, our vice president, began the lighting ceremony. Jane Rudenko recited the pledge with the new members, who were now inducted as members of the National Honor Society for 2013/2014. The ceremony was followed by a reception with cake and punch.

National Honor Society 2013-14 Inductees
Jordan Adcock
Eddy Cruz
Morganne Guinther
Alexis Kirkland
Mikaela Maldonado
Javon Nathaniel
Adilene Ramirez
Rachael Taggio
A’ja Crayton
Josue Guevara
Tai Huynh
Alexis Klaus
Juliya Moore
Ayeishia Neal
Katrina Sutton
Alana Tedeschi
Kelly Wallace

Written by: Sylvia Roldan
Posted: Nov 08, 2013 by Sylvia Roldan

Back to list of stories for Union County Public Schools