ucps logo

Archived Stories for Union County Public Schools

Search by Keyword

Drama Department Receives Awards

CHS junior Tana Stamper, senior Spencer Crane, and junior Jayme Johns earned individual awards in the NCTC High School Play Festival.

The CHS Drama Department, led by Joy Hamilton, performed two plays on October 29 as part of the 2013 NCTC High School Play Festival. The plays were “Among Friends and Clutter” and “Rabbit Hole.” The NCTC High School Play Festival is a statewide celebration of outstanding student achievement in theatre. The Festival was one of eight regional Festivals held across the state, which featured approximately 3,000 students from 94 schools, in 128 productions.

Professional actors and directors watched each show and offered valuable feedback; they encouraged our students to do their very best work. These adjudicators also recognized student achievements and presented the CHS Drama Department with the following awards:

“Among Friends and Clutter” – Rating: Excellent
“Rabbit Hole” – Rating: Excellent
Excellence in Ensemble Acting" – “Among Friends and Clutter”
Outstanding in Student Design & Production – Jayme Johns (Stage Management, “Among Friends and Clutter”)
Excellence in Student Design & Production – Tana Stamper (Stage Management, “Rabbit Hole”)
Excellence in Acting – Spencer Crane (“Among Friends and Clutter”)

The Festival platform gives teachers the opportunity to fulfill the NC Essential Standards for Theatre Arts and enhances critical thinking skills through an exciting, hands-on learning experience. Here are just a few examples of how curriculum comes to life at NCTC: The Play Festival rehearsal and performance process teaches students “the processes needed to think creatively and critically, and develop and test innovative ideas” and to “use performance to communicate ideas and feelings.” The opportunity to vote on one of the winning shows encourages students to “exercise and communicate sound reasoning and make complex choices.”

The NCTC High School Play Festival is made possible by support from the North Carolina Arts Council, a division of the Department of Cultural Resources, UNC School of the Arts’ School of Design and Production, Wells Fargo, Lincoln Financial Group, The Beattie Foundation, the North Carolina Community Foundations of Beaufort-Hyde, Moore and Watauga Counties, and Barbizon Lighting Company. For more information on NCTC, please visit www.nctc.org.

Written by: Paula White
Posted: Nov 18, 2013 by Paula White

Back to list of stories for Union County Public Schools