ucps logo

Archived Stories for Union County Public Schools

Search by Keyword

UCPS Teacher of the Year contest narrows to 20 semifinalists

The 2015-16 Union County Public Schools Teacher of the Year competition has been narrowed from 53 candidates to 20 semifinalists.

First, a five-person district committee reviewed and scored portfolios from the 53 school-level winners. The 20 individuals receiving the highest scores are then named as semifinalists.

The 20 semifinalists are interviewed by a second district committee comprised this year by the2014-15 UCPS Teacher of the Year, Jennifer Whitley (Forest Hills High School); the 2014-15 Principal of the Year, Dr. Kevin Plue (Forest Hills High School); UCPS Director of Human Resources Operations Dr. Tom Bulla; UCPS Director of Support Services Dr. Debbie Taylor; and Benton Heights Elementary School of the Arts Principal Blaire Traywick.

The teachers with the highest combined scores from the portfolio and interview process are recognized as the 10 finalists.

A third district committee then observes these 10 finalists while they teach in their classrooms.

The teacher with the highest combined score from the portfolio, interview and classroom observation is then named as the 2015-2016 Union County Public Schools Teacher of the Year.

All Teachers of the Year will be recognized on April 23 at the annual Teacher of the Year Banquet. That night, UCPS will name its 2015-16 Teacher of the Year. 

Top 20 semifinalists are listed below in alphabetical order, by school:

Leslie Craven - CATA
Wayne Phaneuf – Cuthbertson High School
Mary Katherine Rochefort – Indian Trail Elementary
Glenn Baron – Kensington Elementary
Matthew Montroy – Marvin Ridge High
Jonathan Harbin – Monroe High School
Jordan Mamara – Parkwood Middle School
Meredith Sizemore – Porter Ridge Elementary
Janet Kerley – Porter Ridge High
Kelly Nance – Prospect Elementary
Ria Rorbacher – Rock Rest Elementary
Lashenna Gaines – Rocky River Elementary
Lisa Austen – Sandy Ridge Elementary
Mary Atwell – Shiloh Elementary
Gary Anderson – Sun Valley High
Jennifer Medlin – Unionville Elementary
Chloe Holsman – Walter Bickett Elementary
Laura Lalone – Weddington High
Cynthia Handog – Wesley Chapel Elementary
Rosilyn Brown – Wingate Elementary



Written by: Deb Coates Bledsoe, UCPS Communications Coordinator; Graphic by Visual Communications Coordinator Arthur Rogers
Posted: Mar 19, 2015 by Deb Coates Bledsoe

Back to list of stories for Union County Public Schools