ucps logo

Archived Stories for Union County Public Schools

Search by Keyword

PR Wins Awards at the Second Annual UCPS Film Festival

Film Production Finalists: Back row (left to right): Carolina Carbajal, Endrea Moore, Andrea Newton, Brooke Bjorneboe, Dennis O’Neil, Austin Anderson, Nathan Gilleland. Front Row: Eric McLeod, Collin Henderson, Anthony Lott, Joey Battoglia.

On May 19th the 2nd Annual Union County Film Festival featuring original videos from Film I and Film II students from 7 schools across the county was held at Marvin Ridge High School (it rotates to a different school each year). The  schools involved were Porter Ridge, Cuthbertson, Sun Valley, Marvin Ridge, Piedmont, Parkwood, and Monroe.

There were 9 categories this year:  Film I–How- To, Stop Motion, Lip Sync, and Music Videos and Film II–Scripted Dialogue Scene, Documentary, Animated Logo, Promos, and a Student Choice Category. The Film teacher at each school nominated a video for each category.

Those finalists' videos were then voted on by the teachers and outside judges. The outside judges this year were Tahira Stalberte, UCPS Chief Communications Officer, and Jason Wall & Dustin Thaxton from Big Ring Interactive in Monroe, NC.

Porter Ridge had two winners and one runner up in the competition this year. Dennis O’Neil won for best Lip Sync, Andrea Newton, Endrea Moore, Carolina Carbajal, and Brooke Bjorneboe worked as a group and won for best Scripted Dialogue Scene, and Eric McLeod was the runner up for his How-To video. Film student Andrea Newton commented,"I will never forget the feeling of standing on stage and being handed the first place award!"

The other finalists were Documentary-Anthony Lott; Stop Motion (2 nominees)-Austin Anderson and Nathan Gilleland; Animated Logo (2 nominees)-Collin Henderson and Andrea Newton; Promo- Anthony Lott; Music Video-Eric McLeod and Student’s Choice-Joey Battoglia.

Film student Anthony Lott commented," It was great to see other people's creations at the film fest!" "It felt amazing to finally have your hard work recognized," added Collin Henderson.

PR hopes to win awards again next year when the schools come together to celebrate and award Film I and II student productions.

Written by: Tyna Gautreaux, Film Production Teacher
Posted: Jun 03, 2015 by Judy Davis

Back to list of stories for Union County Public Schools